Home Sweet Home

Well, I have great news. I have been assigned to a dorm in Vienna. So, now you can all check out where I will be living. I will be in a double room in a dorm for students called Schäffergasse just a few blocks from my school. Click here for a map of the location. I am very excited to be living here because it is very close to the Naschmarkt, Vienna’s colorful oldest outdoor market. I found this video on YouTube featuring photos from Naschmarkt (If my computer skills have failed me and the embedding doesn’t work, you can click on this link to see the video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLTbrUEdeuE):

My dorm is also close to the Secession, the exhibition hall for Avant-Garde artists at the turn of the century, such as Gustav Klimt.

Gustav Klimt, The Kiss, 1907-1908.

Gustav Klimt, The Kiss, 1907-1908.

My dorm is also close to the popular 5th district nightlife around Schleifmuehlgasse and to the Opera House.  I’ll let you know if I end up seeing any shows at the Opera!

I recently received an email from my good friend Olivia. She just left this week to spend a few months in India. She has arrived safely and is experiencing a bit of culture shock, but is excited to be starting her journey in the (humid) city of Delhi!

Well, that is all for today. My tasks in the next few weeks are to nurse this cold I caught, write my paper, get my Italian study visa, and visit with my friends and family before I go. Hope to hear from you soon!

2 Comments

Filed under Austria, Seattle, Vienna

2 responses to “Home Sweet Home

  1. MOM

    Hey great job on the information about the dorm and the area surrounding it. Is it the dorm you wanted?

Leave a Reply

