All Things Viennese Part II

On Saturday Andrea and I woke up early to go to the Naschmarkt down the street from our dorm. It’s a huge outdoor vegetable/food market and on Saturdays it’s also a flee market. They had tons of fruits and vegetables, even ones I’ve never seen or heard of before! I think Aunt Louise would have brought home suitcases full of antiques if she had been there. I wanted to buy a used accordion, but decided against it. Andrea and I ended up sharing a pastry that wasn’t very good at all.

That afternoon Andrea and I met up with Andrew to go to a typical Viennese cafe, Cafe Central. Apparently the poet Peter Altenberg spent a lot of time writing in this cafe. They even have a papier-mache statue of him there! I tried to knock out a few typical Austrian things by ordering an Austrian coffee (gross!) and Kaiserschmarrn, which is a dessert made with torn pancakes and plum compote. After coffee and dessert and a few hours reading my book The Unbearable Lightness of Being, we met up with Billy and did a little sightseeing on the Ringstraße, the large street that encircles the inner city.

Pretending that I enjoy Austrian coffee.

Pretending that I enjoy Austrian coffee.

On Sunday it was warm and sunny so we went to the Stadtpark to lay out in the sun and read our books. We had dinner with most of the people in our prgram. I ate Bernerwurst, sausage wrapped in bacon! That night we used the projector in our dorm’s basement to watch Kung Fu Panda. I would recommend it; it was very funny.

Today Andrea and I decided to do a little church tour after class. We visited the Minoritenkirche, which is the Italian church here in Vienna. We also went back to the Ringstraße to visit the Votivkirche, which is my favorite church so far here in Vienna. It’s right next to the University of Vienna and all the college students were sitting in the grass in front of the church. We didn’t get to go inside because it was closed. We also tried to visit the Michaelerkirche and the crypt below it, but you can only enter the crypt at a certain time during the day and we missed it. We might try to go back later this week.

Afterward Joseph joined us at a cafe to do our homework. This time we had a typical American drink: Milkshakes! Yum!

P.S. I realized that there is a limit to the number of pictures you are allowed to post on Flickr, so I won’t be posting any more photos until May. Sorry!

votivkirche

2 Comments

Filed under Austria, Vienna

2 responses to “All Things Viennese Part II

  1. Hi nice blog 🙂 I can see a lot of effort has been put in.

  2. This blog’s where its happenning. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

