Benvenuti a Italia

I’m not going to go into detail about getting from Tubingen to Rome because it’s something that I would like to forget. Bus, train, train, train, fine, plane, bus. I think you get the picture.

Anyway, I arrived in Rome in the evening and my friend Leisha met me at the bus stop near Termini train station. I met Leisha during my first quarter at UW and we worked together at the Henry Art Gallery. She has a design internship here in Rome this summer. She’s going to be my partner in crime (partner in debt may be more accurate). We took my luggage back to her place and then ate a panini on the Spanish Steps. Welcome to Rome!

New Coworkers: Valerie (ex-intern), Jennifer, Sheryl, Laura and Federica (Matthew not pictured here)

New Coworkers: Valerie (ex-intern), Jennifer, Sheryl, Laura and Federica (Matthew not pictured here)

The next morning I met Valerie, the old UWRC intern, in Piazza del Biscione and we had a coffee before heading up to the office for my first day of training. It was a long day filled with a lot of new information. In the evening we had the intern dinner to say goodbye to Valerie and to welcome me. We ate at a wonderful restaurant and shared appetizers and made a toast with prosecco. After dinner I rushed to the movie theater to meet Leisha. We had free tickets to see the new Harry Potter movie and we were so excited! I won’t ruin it for you, don’t worry.

The next day I got to sleep in and do training in the afternoon. On Saturday Leisha and I met in a park for lunch (whoa! Trees in Rome?!). In the evening Leisha and I wandered over to Castel Sant’Angelo and St. Peter’s. I had dinner with the old intern Valerie and she took Leisha and me to her favorite gelato place. Then we met up with some of her friends in Trastevere, wandered around and had smoothies.

Leisha and I in St. Peter's Square

Leisha and I in St. Peter's Square

On Sunday Leisha and I took it easy. I walked down to the Colosseum, but nothing too eventful. Leisha and I also started scheming about how to make some extra money. We’re thinking of offering tours by tips, but we’ll see. We didn’t end up at home until past midnight. It’s so warm at night here that it’s hard to imagine it being any later than 9:30 pm even in the wee hours of the morning.

Today was my final day of training. Valerie took me on a little tour of our neighborhood showing me all the locations where I will run errands in the future. Tomorrow is my first day on my own and I also get to move into my apartment!!! I’m getting so excited!

1 Comment

Filed under Italy, Rome

One response to “Benvenuti a Italia

  1. Liv

    you are living the life… ‘your neighborhood.’ i can’t believe rome is your city now!

Leave a Reply

