Home Sweet Rome

Monday was the 40 year anniversary of man walking on the moon, so Rome had a festival called “La luna ha quaranta anni” (The moon is 40 years old). In Piazzo del Popolo they set up a huge stage and there was a big sphere in the center of it that they lit up to look like the moon. When Leisha and I first got there, a group of scientists were on stage discussing something… the moon probably. (My Italian skills are sub-par when it comes to scientific discussion.) They also played some of the original footage from Apollo 11.

Scientists playing footage from Apollo 11 at La Luna festival

Scientists playing footage from Apollo 11 at La Luna festival

After that Moby, yes the real Moby, gave a concert for free! It was amazing. The next day Leisha and I told our dads about it and they were both appalled that Italy would have a bigger anniversary celebration for Apollo 11 than the U.S. I guess Italians will use any excuse to have a party.

Here is a video I took during the concert:

And because the sound is absolutely horrible, here is the real music video for the same song:

Tuesday was my first day being the intern all alone. No more training. It went smoothly, of course. That afternoon I was able to move into my new apartment and I spent the whole day unpacking in the heat. One of my favorite things about the apartment: My dishwasher.

Since then, Leisha and I have been exploring Rome in the evenings when it’s cool out. I’ve visited the Colosseum, Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, etc. We also visited the street-fair-type festival down on the banks of the river and started watching La Dolce Vita. I also happened upon a photo shoot, which was cool.

A photoshoot for something...

A photoshoot for something...

For right now I’m just settling in to the job, to my apartment, to Rome. I’m also planning a trip back to Vienna to sort out some visa things and visit Paige who is studying there right now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Italy, Rome

Leave a Reply

