Turning 22 Internationally

Ah, turning twenty two in another country has its ups and downs. It offers  cool, unique birthday experiences, but it inherently lacks some of your favorite people. You know who you are and I want to start out by saying, I miss you and I wish you could have been there!

“I’ve got the golden ticket.” Because Mia had to work on my actual birthday, we started the celebration on the 23rd. Mia, Leisha and I had a girls-only outing to the dance floor. I’d like to say that we danced out hearts out. After all the dancing we headed to Anthony’s apartment to hang out for a bit.

We put the birth in birthday. When I got to the office the next day, I found out that my boss, Jennifer had taken the day off because her friend went into labor and she wanted to be there for the birth. Unfortunately, the baby wasn’t born until the 25th. How lame. I was hoping we could share a birthday. So, Jennifer missed our little office party complete with cake, juice and other snacks.

How to create a tradition from Schramme. Last year for my 21st birthday, we all went to dinner at Schultzy’s, the German restaurant on the Ave, which was very fitting because my birthday falls on Oktoberfest. This year, Leisha found an Austrian restaurant in Rome. When I told Sheryl, one of my coworkers, where we were going for dinner, she said, “Oh, haha, that place is… fun.” Understandably, that worried me. After Leisha, Anthony, Dominique, Rain and I rushed to meet Ben there for our reservation, we understood what Sheryl meant. The place is decorated like a traditional Heurige with a Nouveau/Mod twist. For example, the walls are decorated with antlers painted white. It was so wonderful to be eating Weisswurst, Sauerkraut and Wiener Schnitzel again. YUM! I think I will have to make a tradition out of eating German/Austrian food on my birthday.

After dinner we walked towards the Trevi Fountain to have dessert at San Crispino gelateria. I never get to eat here because Leisha likes Giolitti’s gelato better. After the typical birthday photo shoot at the Trevi (as a shout out to Hallie, of course) it was time to move on to phase two of the birthday celebrations.

Ben, Leisha, Dominique, Anthony, Rain and I at the Trevi Fountain

Ben, Leisha, Dominique, Anthony, Rain and I at the Trevi Fountain

Sharing my birthday with Ireland’s pride and joy. Next we headed to Scholar’s lounge, an Irish pub near home to have the “beer of the week” where we met up with Lauren and Lucas. Due to the fact that it was Guiness’s 250th birthday, the place was packed. They were handing out free tee shirts and you had the chance to win a free key chain every time you ordered a Guiness. The best part, however, was the Irish band, which started to play the happy birthday song to Guiness while my friends filled in the blank with “Rae” instead. We finished up the night chatting at the students’ apartment. It was a lovely birthday indeed.

Lily let me down. As an extended part of my birthday (or really just because it was free) Leisha, Mia and I went to Piazza del Popolo for MTV’s Summer Song concert. The top 15 artists of the summer sing one song each and at the end everyone votes for the best song of the summer. I was really excited because Lily Allen was supposed to be there and her song Not Fair got stuck in my head all summer. Unfortunately, Lily decided that she wanted to focus on her acting career and would not be performing anymore. Bummer. It was still quite entertaining though. We felt kind of old next to the teeny-boppers yelling “Ti amo!” at the boy bands and “Ciao” at the camera. Nevertheless, it was still a good (and free) time. Here’s a medley of clips from our favorite songs of the night:

And that is the end of my 22nd birthday.

1 Comment

Filed under Italy, Rome

One response to “Turning 22 Internationally

  1. Liv

    WOW what a fabulous birthday!

Leave a Reply

