Buone Feste & Arrivaderci!

My last week in Rome was filled with last dinners, final exhibitions, packing and Christmas shopping.

On Sunday I headed out to the Porta Portese flee market again to pick up some things for friends. Unfortunately, it was too early for the Christmas markets to open. Although, Rome does seem to be getting into the holiday spirit! There are Christmas lights stretched across alley ways and garlands in the store fronts. They also began selling Christmas ornaments in the Campo and down Via del Pellegrino. But to be honest, I am really excited to spend the holidays in Seattle and California. I can’t wait!

On Tuesday night Leish and I had our farewell to each other dinner in Trastevere at Otello. Yum, yum, yum. It was a great way to send her off (to Amsterdam and the Wok to Walk). On Wednesday morning she left for the airport. Don’t worry though! We have plans to see each other in Seattle next week.

As far as the final exhibitions go, the architecture students converted the conference room into a gallery space for their show on Wednesday night. While the rest of the Rome Center was a complete mess with their scraps of paper and cardboard, the conference room looked lovely. I wish I had the ability to understand their advanced architectural renderings, but I did enjoy the sketchbooks they had on display.


Architecture Student Sketchbook

On Friday it was the art program’s turn. They used both the conference room, all the classrooms on the first floor, the two small classrooms on the third floor and the medieval tower for their exhibition. There was artwork all over the building. I think I took a photo of every single piece. Some of my favorites were the angel mobile by RaShelle, the horse by Gini, the erased Colosseum by Sam, the chandelier by Kate and everything by Stefanie. (You can see all of these in my facebook album.)

Art girls in front of Stefanie's grafiti piece.

Roberto, the door man, came up to see the exhibition and his favorite was a distorted image of Christ by Ashton. If you stand in a particular spot, the image compresses into its correct perspective. Roberto went on and on about it while I translated. I really like Ashton’s work as well. In fact, I bought a small watercolor that she painted while in Murano, a small island near Venice. It was hard for Ashton to part with, but I’m glad she did!

Ashton's watercolor of Murano

On Saturday, I ran around taking care of last minute things. For example, I went to the biscottificio (cookie store) in Trastevere to pick up some fresh cookies to bring to Chad when I land in Seattle. In the evening, I went out to dinner near the Colosseum with the girls from the food program. We had a wonderful dinner with shared appetizers. We also shared our pasta dishes by passing around plates and trading bites. Afterward, we took a long walk around the city through the Campidoglio and then to enjoy the Christmas lights. Rome is so beautiful this time of year.

Christmas lights down an alley in Rome.

We got home kind of late and it was originally my plan to stay awake until I had to catch a cab at 4:00am to the airport, but I am feeling pretty sleepy and I think I may get an hour or two of shut eye before I start the long journey home. See you all tomorrow!!!!!!!

Comments Off on Buone Feste & Arrivaderci!

Filed under Italy, Rome

Comments are closed.